Get ‘Em Before They’re Got!
Go to cart (0) items [$0.00]
Back to Shop

Click for larger image

Howard Tate LP

Howard Tate
Howard Tate LP

Do you want us to release this album?
Then vote now!


Be the first to review this product

This product can also be purchased in 344 of our stores.

Marketing points:

  • Howard Tate is a cult-figure in the world of soul and rock, having been the original singer on the Jerry Ragovoy song, “Get It While You Can,” that was later popularized by Janis Joplin. Tate reunited with Ragovoy on this Atlantic self-titled album that includes covers of other rock classics “Jemima Surrender” by The Band and “Girl of the North Country” by Bob Dylan, which was never recorded by another soul singer. 
  • First time the title would be reissued on vinyl since its initial release in 1972.
  • Each LP is individually numbered and strictly limited based on pre orders.
  • 1LP, 180g, black vinyl pressed at Record Industry comes in single pocket UV gloss tip-on Stoughton sleeve.


Howard Tate was a Soul singer and songwriter that had a string of hit singles in the late 1960s including “Ain’t Nobody Home,” and “Get It While You Can,” the latter which became a hit for Janis Joplin and the final track on her legendary “Pearl” album. Born in rural Georgia, Tate eventually moved with his family to Philadelphia and joined a Gospel group called the Gainors that included Garnett Mimms. The group recorded R&B singles for Mercury Records and Cameo Records in the early 1960s. Tate also performed with organist Bill Doggett during his stint in Philly. While Mimms was with the Enchanters he introduced Howard to record producer, Jerry Ragovoy who began recording Tate for Verve Records. From 1966 to 1968, Ragovoy and Tate produced a series of soul blues recordings, including “Ain’t Nobody Home,” “Look at Granny,” and “Stop,” which were all well received and charted in the Top 20 in the US Billboard R&B chart. Ragovoy and Tate reunited on Howard’s self-titled 1972 album on Atlantic Records which includes more Ragovoy-penned tracks along with Tate’s cover of Bob Dylan’s “Girl From the North Country,” and Robbie Robertson’s and Levon Helm’s “Jemima Surrender.”  Tate retired from music in the late 1970s, developed a dependence on drugs and ended up living in a homeless shelter after his 13 year old died in a tragic house fire. In the early 2000’s with the help of a disc jockey from New Jersey, Tate was rediscovered and began a performing and recording resurrection that saw him reunite with Jerry Ragovoy yet again and garner more accolades that had eluded him for much of his career. If you like other Soul artists such as Al Green, Joe Tex, Gene Chandler and James Carr, you will definitely want to vote this in as our next pre-order title. 


Side A

  1. She’s a Burglar
  2. 8 Days on the Road
  3. You Don’t Know Nothing About Love
  4. When I was  a Young Man
  5. Girl of the North Country
  6. Where Did My Baby Go

Side B

  1. Keep Cool (Don’t Be a Fool)
  2. Jemima Surrender
  3. Strugglin’
  4. It’s Heavy
  5. It’s Your Move
  6. The Bitter End