Get ‘Em Before They’re Got!
Go to cart (0) items [$0.00]
Back to Shop

Click for larger image

Heart & Soul

Lorraine Ellison
Heart & Soul

Do you want us to release this album?
Then vote now!


Be the first to review this product

This product can also be purchased in 380 of our stores.

Config/Selection: A / ROGV-032
Units per set: 2
UPC: 081227931193

Marketing Points:

• If voted to win, it will be the first time this 1966 Jerry Ragovoy-produced Soul classic will be reissued on vinyl and includes the classic, “Stay With Me.”
• Would be mastered from the original master tapes and released in glorious MONO! 
• Would include a second LP of 1966 material that has never been on vinyl but was originally issued on the out of print Rhino Handmade 3CD set: Sister Love: The Warner Brothers Recordings
• Would be pressed on 2-180g black vinyl records at Record Industry in the Netherlands and come in a deluxe gatefold tip-on Stoughton sleeve. 
• Each 2LP set would come numbered and strictly limited based on pre-orders

A favorite with UK Northern Soul devotees, Philadelphia born Soul singer, Lorraine Ellison originally sang in Gospel groups the Ellison Singers and the Golden Chords in the early 1960s. She switched to R&B in 1964 with her first charting song, the Jerry Butler tune, “I Dig You Baby,” on Mercury Records a year later. The song reached #22 on the Billboard R&B charts. She eventually signed with Warner Brothers Records and in 1966 recorded her signature song, “Stay With Me,” following a studio cancellation by Frank Sinatra. The song reached #11 on the Billboard R&B charts and #64 on the Hot 100 Chart. The song was produced and written by Jerry Ragovoy. Her follow up single, “Heart Be Still,” was a minor hit in 1967. Ellison also recorded Try (Just a Little Bit Harder), which was a later successful cover for Janis Joplin. Ellison composed many of her own songs throughout her short career and her songs were covered by other artists including Jerry Butler, Garnett Mimms, Howard Tate and DeeDee Warwick. Lorraine gave up the music business to take her of her ailing mother. She tragically died of ovarian cancer in January of 1983 at the young age of only 51.

Track Listing:
Side A
1 Heart And Soul 3:02
2 Games That Lovers Play 2:30
3 He’s My Guy 2:44
4 What A Difference A Day Makes 3:00
5 A Change Is Gonna Come 3:30
6 If I Had a Hammer 2:15
Side B
1 When Love Flies Away 3:09
2 Cry Me A River 3:04
3 Stay With Me 3:29
4 What Is A Woman 3:00
5 That’s For Me 2:36
6 My Man’s Gone Now 3:20

NOTE: 2nd LP tracks TBD